Ardmona Primary School elects student leaders

By Tara Whitsed

Ardmona Primary School students wrapped up Education Week with a presentation of student leadership badges.

Kydan Miller and Declan Jackson were elected as school leaders with Tiearne Flint and Ruby Madill serving as deputies.

Ardmona Primary School’s Michael Van Dorsser said the leadership team was elected through a nomination process where the students were required to conduct interviews with their teachers before having their fellow students vote.

Year 6 students Connor Barker and Brock Davis were also presented with their shirts, marking their final year at Ardmona Primary School.

The badges were presented by City of Greater Shepparton Mayor Kim O’Keeffe, who also spoke to students about what made a great leader.

‘‘You should always have your eyes a little bit wider open,’’ she said and added it was important to be a good listener as well.

Students had heard from a range of different professionals in the community about their careers including police officers, radio hosts and much more, coinciding with this year’s Education Week theme of celebrating careers.

Education Week, now in its 75th year, aims to positively profile and celebrate the strengths and achievements of Victoria’s government education sector.